Friday, January 29, 2016

Review: Death Wish


IN SEARCH OF THE MEANING OF DEATH, SHE’LL FIND THE MEANING OF LIFE.

The Ceruleans: mere mortals infused with power over life and death. Five books; one question: If the might of the heavens were in your hands, would you be sinner or saint?

Seventeen-year-old Scarlett Blake is haunted by death. Her estranged sister has made the ultimate dramatic exit. Running away from school, joining a surfing fraternity, partying hard: that sounds like Sienna. But suicide? It makes no sense.

Following in her sister’s footsteps, Scarlett comes to an isolated English cove with grand plans to uncover the truth. Alone. But she hasn’t reckoned on meeting two boys who are determined to help her. Luke: the blue-eyed surfer who’ll see the real Scarlett, who’ll challenge her, who’ll save her. And Jude: the elusive drifter with a knack for turning up whenever Scarlett’s in need.

As Scarlett’s quest for the truth unravels, so too does her grip on reality as she’s always known it. Because there’s something strange going on in this little cove. A dead magpie circles the skies. A dead deer watches from the undergrowth. Hands glow with light. Warmth. Power.

What transpires is a summer of discovery. Of what it means to conquer fear. To fall in love. To choose life. To choose death.

To believe the impossible.



Thursday, January 28, 2016

Book and a Bath (1)

Book and a Bath is a new featured post I'll be doing here at Rabbit Hole Reviews to talk about my  latest favorite bath products and what I'm currently reading. All product reviews are my own and are not sponsored. 

 This week I started Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch.  I know, about time right? Admittedly this book and the second in the series, Ice Like Fire, have been on my TBR for quite some time but I am just now getting around to it. This is definitely one of those book series that I started reading and am kicking myself for waiting so long to get to! I am about halfway through Snow Like Ashes and can already tell this is going to be a new favorite. As soon as I finish it you can expect to see a review!

This week's bath pairing is the Sakura Bath Bomb from Lush!  As my friends and family can attest to, I am a BIG fan of baths and the best ones usually involve a good book, Lush bath products, and a glass of wine! This isn't my first time using the Sakura Bath Bomb; it's actually one of my favorites! The only downfall of this bath bomb is that it is hard to reuse unless you break it into pieces prior to throwing it in the tub.  Since Lush bath bombs tend to be a bit on the pricey end, I like to get ones I can use for more than one bath.  Other than that, the Sakura smells amazing and is back on the site again for sale!

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Anything More Than Now Release and Excerpts



Reagan Landry is months away from college graduation, but instead of excitement, she's frozen by the fear of letting go — of her ex-boyfriend, of the comfortable life she created for herself in Portland, of the years-long search for her older sister who abandoned her as a homeless teen. When she’s finally forced to decide what's next, Reagan is met with another complication — her ex’s best friend, Noah Burke, who seems determined that she embraces what could be instead of what has been.

Drunkenly hooking up with his best friend’s ex, Reagan, is a mistake, but being secretly in love with her is so much worse when things seem one-sided. A disenchanted frat boy about to fail out of college, Noah has been living out someone else’s dream after a horrible accident five years earlier. Just when he thinks he's lost any chance he has with Reagan, she surprises him by agreeing to spend the summer together at his family's ranch in Montana.

And suddenly what started out as a complication between them becomes serious...until the past starts ripping apart their future.


About The Author: Rebecca writes smart, emotional, and gritty New Adult and historical romances featuring flawed characters struggling to find their place in the world. She's a lover of rainy days, an unabashed anglophile, and a devote Earl Gray tea drinker. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and their very spoiled cat, Bella. A wanderlust connoisseur, Rebecca can be caught daydreaming about her next travel adventure when not writing. You can find out more about her and her books at www.rebeccapaula.com. Rebecca loves hear from her readers. You can email her at rebeccapaula.author@gmail.com.





Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Top Ten Tuesday (1)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.  

This week's post was a freebie and I was trying to think of a topic that would show just how much I love these books, short of saying: "These are my top ten favorite books of all time!" So this week's post is my top ten books that I would grab if there ever was an emergency (fire, tornado, flood, you name it).  In all honesty, there have been a few instances when tornado warnings have gone off in my town and I've run to the basement with a few of my most treasured belongings, most of them being books LOL. Anyone else find themselves doing this in situations like these? Let me know which books you would grab if you only could choose a few in an emergency!

1. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
-This is my most loved, most read book of all time.  I've had it since 5th grade when I got it at a book fair at my elementary school and I've loved it ever since! The cover is in complete disarray and I could use a new copy of the book but I can't bear parting with my first one!
2. All my Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling
-Yes I know I'm cheating on this one since I own the entire series and multiple copies of each book at that, but I'm still going to count this as one! Hopefully should an emergency ever come up I have extra people around me to help carry books because I'm thinking 2 hands isn't enough for all the books on my list this week!
3.  A Little Princess by Francis Hodgson Burnett
-If you've read my "About Rabbit Hole Reviews" page you'll understand why this one is so near and dear to my heart. It's safe to say this is mostly for the sake of good memories and not so much because I've read this book in the past few years a lot (I haven't, but I should!).  
4. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
-I have a signed copy and it also reminds me of the first book signing I ever went to.  This series is one of my all time favorite series though and if you read my posts from time to time you'll hear me talk a lot about this series! I just adore Sam and Grace so much!
5. Eragon (and all my Inheritance series books for that matter if I could carry them all) by Christopher Paolini
-Not only is this another one of my favorite series and I'm convinced that one day I'll marry Christopher Paolini (anyone know if he's on a dating website? :) ) kidding! (not really) Anyhow, what makes my copies of this series so special to me is that a few months back one of my best friends sent me a signed picture of Paolini and signed book templates for each of my books.  She wrote to him on my behalf and he signed and addressed everything to me! It was such a great gift and honestly one of the most thoughtful gifts I've ever received! Thanks Alyssa!
6. UK edition of Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas
-I LOVE this one! Have you seen the covers on the UK ones?
7. ARC of Bone Gap by Laura Ruby
8. My SIGNED copy of Bone Gap 
-Can you tell I love this book? My OTSP Secret Sis Kristen got this for me this past round!
9. My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins
-I have the UK edition of this as well and if you haven't seen this cover yet you NEED to google it immediately! It's gorgeous and I'm slowly getting signatures in it from all the authors who contributed to the book whenever I see them at book conferences!
10. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
-I know there's likely some inward groaning as people read this right now but I'll be the first to say that I've always and will likely always love this series.  Although I've always loved reading, it's one of those series that really resparked my passion for this hobby and turned me into such a book monster again.  I have Meyer to thank for that!

Review: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk


A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.

Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

 A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

 This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

Monday, January 25, 2016

Giveaway: Win a copy of When Joss Met Matt by Ellie Cahill


To kick off the launch of Rabbit Hole Reviews this week, I have a fun giveaway for you all! I'm giving away my copy of When Joss Met Matt by Ellie Cahill!  This is one of the best NA books I've read in a long time and I was lucky enough to have met Ellie in person a few months back at Liza Weimer's Novel Cuisine Luncheon. Giveaway is U.S. only.


Ellie Cahill is poised to coin the term “sorbet sex” with her charming twist on the age-old ‘friends-with-benefits’ story.

Dating can be fun, but it can leave a nasty taste in your mouth. For Joss, ever since her longtime boyfriend cheated on her, she doesn’t want her last memory of a guy to be that jerk. Enter her college friend, Matt. They come up with a theory: after a bad break-up, a person needs to cleanse the palate with a little sorbet sex. Lovers for a night, but always back to being friends in the morning. The two can handle it because they have a contract: rules they wrote, rules they follow and rules they can sometimes bend. The arrangement works: everyone needs a little sorbet now and again … until it starts to be the only thing you want. And then Joss breaks the one rule they never wrote down: don’t fall in love.


 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 photo copyright.jpg
envye template.